Reviews on Yelp

MB H.
San Francisco, CA
4/10/2010

I have been going to Helene for almost 15 years now. I found her shortly after I moved to San Francisco and needed someone to rescue my hair color after a bad dye job.

Helene is simply wonderful at getting your hair the right color. On top of that she understands the chemistry of the products she works with. I have long hair and I have never had problems with my hair staying healthy even with regular dyeing.

On top of this I find her services to be a good value, I know women paying much more for less.

_______________

Jodi B.
San Francisco, CA
6/26/10

I found Helene when I moved to San Francisco in 1998.  In desperate need of a haircut, I walked down Union Street and popped my head into a number of salons to see who could take me over the next day or two. I received lots of rude responses and looks, until I stumbled upon Helene who happened to have a cancellation and invited me in on the spot.  I've been going back to Helene for cuts and highlights ever since (12 years)!

No pretentiousness, lovely conversation, and always willing to listen and help address my latest hair woes.  Helene is a constant student of hair and make-up, and is always exploring new techniques and products that might meet her customers' needs.  She has a very loyal client base (which reading these Yelp reviews only confirms) and I'm so happy she was able to stay on Union Street when she was forced to move her salon location.

I highly recommend Helene!

_______________
Amanda L.
San Francisco, CA
3/4/2009

I have known Helene Rene' for years. I would say over 15 years now.  I worked on Union Street managing a shop and became fast friends with her. I remember when the earthquake happened in 1989 and she went to the Marina Green and gave free hair cuts.

She is excellent at color and cut, she did my hair on my wedding day. Since moving across town I rarely see her. I highly recommend her services, plus its a bonus that she is super nice and funny to hang
around with.

You can park at the Wells-Fargo lot across the street.

_______________

Katherine N.
San Francisco, CA
10/9/2008

I'm thrilled to see Helene is at Ringolevio Salon.
I'm happy to say I met the owner of this salon several years ago when he taught once a week at my former cosmetology school and was very loved by all.

Helene does great blondes and highlights and always uses all the best  products.
She down to earth and a very special person.
I can't say enough, she simply will bring your hair back to health.
Trust me.

_______________

Caitlin C.
Sunnyvale, CA
11/10/2008
 
Helen is an awesome person to meet.  I took her make-up and hair course one Saturday and the class time just flew by.  Helen had so many insightful tips to share and ended up giving me strong confidence when creating my look on any occasion.

I highly recommend you take her course if given the opportunity.  Helen also has her own make up line which I love playing with; the prices are great for what you are given and how long they will last you.  Since taking this class I look forward to doing my own hair treatments, washing my face, and putting on make-up.  My results are amazing to me, I notice a big change and so does my family.  I can not stress enough how up lifting this class has made me feel both inside and out ;-).

I trust Helen to do my hair or make-up on any given day; she knows what she is doing.

_______________

Tammy A.
Redwood City, CA
2/21/2007

Helene is a hair goddess! She's been doing my hair for over 10 years and is always a pleasure to go to. She listens to your input and won't quibble over fine-tuning her cut if that's what you want. She also does coloring and sells her own private-branded line of makeup and skin care products. And her service prices are very reasonable.

Her solo salon is in the front part of her residential flat on the 2nd story of a Victorian, above Joji's House of Teriyaki restaurant. Not handicapped-accessible. If you like dogs she'll let her two little guys in, otherwise they stay in the back.

Be warned, parking in the immediate area is a bitch...I park at Marina Green even though it's a mile away. On the other hand, lots of nice eateries and boutiques to enjoy before and/or after.

EDIT 6/2/09: Not an update. Well, yes, but I didn't want to format it by Yelp's Update. Helene is now at Ringolevio, just a couple blocks up and around the corner, 2660 Gough. Too bad she lost her flat - it was charming. But that's real estate in SF for you. Wow, this was only the 2nd Yelp review I ever wrote!

_______________
 
Sally B.
San Francisco, CA
10/10/2008

I found my way to Helene Rene after my long time hair guy moved to Amsterdam and I am very happy to have finally found someone who can really work with my hair!  Helene is extremely attentive and willing to take as much time as necessary to achieve a good result.  She's given me the best cut I've ever had.  She also gave me a make-up lesson which was fun and really helped since I've never really known how to apply make-up.  I can also recommend her products--the skin care and make-up products are excellent quality for reasonable prices.

Don't worry---she is open during the construction!

_______________
 
Mindy M.
San Francisco, CA
12/10/2008

Helene Rene is the real deal...she stay sharp on what's in style, her cut is stellar, her rates are reasonable for the time she spends, and her color is just right. But what I really like is that she cuts "your" hair, and doesn't do only people who have hair like her own....she has a great eye. Beyond that, it's just really fun talking to her because she's interesting and interested......definitely worth trying her services!!!!

_______________

Gretchen S.
San Francisco, CA
10/29/2008

I've been going to Helene Rene ever since I became a redhead -- way back when I was in my 20s.  I'm in my 40s now.  I have hair that I never loved until I met Helene Rene!  She taught me how to love my curls.  My life has never been the same since.  Thank you Helene!  And even though they are excavating below your salon -- thank goodness you are remain on Union St.  I'll be in shortly as my roots are showing.